Saturday, February 26, 2011

I was reading a book and a character in the book spoke of doing a card reading in a circle pattern. I was intrigued so I went looking for a card layout that used a circle and found what was called the astrology spread. Well it seemed interesting and so I decided to do it. But I felt lead to sleep with the cards under my pillow until I felt it was time to do it. Yesterday was that day, after having slept with them under my pillow for 5 days. I have to say it felt like the most powerful reading I have ever done for myself. I am still trying to decipher the results but while I was interpreting them initially they felt so right. I would suggest this technique of sleeping with your cards to everyone and this spread.

Choose the significator. The significator is a card that represents you, the reader. Choosing it is based largely upon intuition, but since this is the zodiac spread, it should also be astrologically based. There are four elements - fire, earth, air and water - that are each associated with three of the zodiac signs. Fire houses are symbolized in a tarot deck by a wand and scepter and include Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. Earth houses are symbolized by pentacles and coins and represent Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. Air houses display a sword and are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. Water signs are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces and are represented by a cup.

Shuffle the deck of tarot cards, cut it, and lay the pattern. For the zodiac spread, 12 cards are laid face up in a circle beginning at the one o'clock position and proceeding clockwise. Each number, and thus each card, on the allegorical clock represents a house of the zodiac. Beginning clockwise at one:

1: Aries; personality, attitudes, and how one interacts within the world.
2: Taurus; financial & material matters, principals
3: Gemini; communication, education, siblings & travel
4: Cancer; home, family, childhood, fatherly influences
5: Leo; pleasures & leisure, romance & creativity relationships with children
6: Virgo; work & responsibilities, health, helping others
7: Libra; close partnership & working relationships, alliances & marriage
8: Scorpio; hidden influences, life cycle, sexuality & psychic awareness
9: Sagittarius; religion & philosophy, law, foreign cultures & long distance travel.
10: Capricorn; career & ambitions, self-esteem, achievements & public status
11: Aquarius; social life & acquaintances, hopes and wishes
12: Pisces; subconscious, strengths & weaknesses, restrictions


Aries, self and identity

Taurus, work and material goods

Gemini, communication and ideas

Cancer, home and family

Leo, magic, art and pleasure

Virgo, health and apprenticeship

Libra, relationships

Scorpio, secrets and taboos

Sagittarius, visions and travel

Capricorn, reputation and career

Aquarius, social groups and future

Pisces, secrets and surrender.